Honda Goldwing Experience

March was my dads 71st birthday and the whole family wanted to do something special to celebrate the day. We racked our brains together And come up with the idea of a Honda Goldwing trike ride!  (If at all possible)

My dad has always loved the Goldwing’s and each year goes down to Scarborough beach to see them at the Honda Goldwing light parade. He has always said he wanted to buy a trike.

We thought well he will probably never get one but let’s give him the next best thing – a ride on the back of one.

I set to work looking at the various gold wing members clubs on the internet and through a local Facebook group managed to speak to one of the members (John) who was fantastic about trying to help us arrange this for my dad.

It was all looking promising a club member in the local area would be able to take my dad on his Goldwing and a few other members would be looking to come down too in the next few weeks. A special birthday card was made by the club and sent out to me ready for my dads birthday. When he opened the card there was a Lovely message inside, my dad was overwhelmed and didn’t know what to say and very surprised.

The big day Sunday April 23rd and my dad was a little anxious and not sure what to expect. We heard the roar of 7 gold wings pull up outside our house. After greeting and introductions followed by a few pictures my dad climbed aboard the Goldwing, we did try to get mum aboard one but she declined and instead I climbed aboard.

We set off and headed for our first stop Ravenscar café. My dad bought the round of coffees and teas and we all sat inside and had a great chat, loved  hearing about their experiences and stories and I honestly couldn’t meet a nicer group of people. After “just one more photo” we then climbed back on and headed around the Scarborough sea front and eventually back to my parents house.

JBP_4385a

My dad thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the bikes are amazing very customisable, the trike I sat on had a 400watt stereo, lots of led lights and 10 thousand pounds worth of modifications. The Goldwing’s are certainly a head turner and the amount of people that stopped to look at them around the seafront was fantastic. They are certainly a powerful show bike with plenty of torque with 1500 and 1800 engines, and one of the most comfy rides with the straight back heated leather seats I think I will ever sit on.

I think a few years no claims and experience riding and I would certainly consider a Goldwing trike.

The gang were absolutely fantastic and we massively appreciate the time, efforts and distance travelled all the riders took to make it a special day for my dad.

We hope the donation we made helps towards your charity for 2017 “Yorkshire air ambulance” hats off to the work these guys put in for charity!

JBP_4410a

Leave a Reply

